top of page
  • jangmandy10

First Two Weeks of School

Updated: Aug 14


I wake up every day (except Friday yay) at 6:45am because I have class in the first period. When registering for early classes, I totally forgot to account for the 45-minute commute to school, so I am slowly regretting it, but I'm sure I'll get used to it. I'm taking a total of three classes (initially I planned on taking four business classes, but I unfortunately was not able to get another transferrable course during registration).


BUSS 311 (Organizational Behavior) and BUSS 313 (International Business) are both IB core classes, while the DISS 232 (Global Business Ethics) is an IB elective. My Fridays are open, which I plan on using as either a catch-up day for class work, or for exploring Korea. With only three classes, my workload will likely be less than those taking four or five classes, so I hope to keep myself busy by joining clubs and attending various school events.


Two of my classes, BUSS 311 and BUSS 313, are both in the Hyundai Motor Hall, which has five floors and four underground floors. The design of the building is super modern and sleek. There are also lounges on each floor, which is where I am currently writing this blog post.


BUSS 311 is my first class on Mondays and Wednesdays. Sitting in the class, waiting for the professor to arrive and watching students spill into the classroom was super nerve-racking. That was probably the most nervous I had been in a long time. Fortunately, the professor turned out to be quite laid-back and friendly. My other two professors also seem kind, which is a relief. All of my classes this week were short as they mostly served as a introduction to the course. I spent some time after class looking around the Hyundai Motor Hall and other areas of campus.



Getting Sick :-\

I got sick during the weekend, so the following week was uneventful. For the first few days, I relied on my Beekeeper's Propolis Immune Support spray that I bought from Amazon, which was helpful for soothing a scratchy throat. Eventually, it got worse and I finally bought some Pancol oral medicine at the convenience store that was near my apartment (Picture on the right). My roommates also eventually started to catch my cold, and we all went to the pharmacy to buy some common medicine cold, which was only 3,000 won for a box.






I also tried Korean porridge or 죽 (juk), which was super filling and tasty. Right as ate the first spoonful, I actually felt my sinuses open because of how hot it was. I think I ended up burning my tongue in the process, but it was such a good meal for fighting a cold. I bought it from a chain called 본죽 (Bonjuk) which I highly recommend! Such a warm comfort meal.






Trying Delivery for the First Time!

I really didn't feel like going out when I was sick, so I decided to try food delivery, which is known to be fast and efficient in Korea. I downloaded Yogiyo (요기요), a popular food delivery app, but was discouraged when I realized that I needed a Korean credit card and my ARC identification number, which I didn't have yet. I tried Baedal Minjok (배달의 민족), but encountered the same problem.


I browsed multiple Reddit threads for solutions and found Shuttle, which is an app specifically made for foreigners. This app has less options and I think the prices are slightly more expensive, but I was able to use my foreign debit card. I ordered pho and some spring rolls on the side. Including the delivery fee, the total came out to be 20,400 won or around $15.06. Although I admit it's on the pricey side, especially in Korea, I thought it was worth it.


Overall, Shuttle is really easy to use, but just watch out for closing hours. I once ordered from a restaurant and waited for up to an hour, wondering what happened to my order. They then notified me saying that the restaurant had already closed. From my experience, delivery times really vary. Sometimes I get my food in around 30 minutes, and some times it takes an hour and 30 minutes. So if you plan on using Shuttle, I recommend ordering your food early to account for a potentially long wait time.


14 views

Recent Posts

See All

Midterms

For Midterms, I had to work on a report and presentation for my International Business course, as well as take an exam for my...

コメント


bottom of page