top of page
  • jangmandy10

2024 CRUSH CONCERT [May I be your May?]

When I first heard that Crush was having a concert, I was completely overjoyed. I’ve been a fan of his for a while and have always wanted to see him live. His latest album, wonderego, was amazing, so I knew I had to attend. Thankfully, getting tickets wasn’t too difficult, especially compared to NCT DREAM’s concert.


Crush's 2024 Concert [May I be your May?] was held at Yonsei University's Ampitheater, the school's official outdoor venue for big events, namely AKARAKA, their annual cheering event. We arrived a little early to get merch, but they unfortunately sold out on their shirt, which my friend really wanted to buy. I got myself some white socks lol. They provided us with inflatable seat cushions, which made for a nice souvenir to take home.


Crush came out on stage at around 6:30, looking sharp in a suit and tie, and surprised us all by walking through the audience while singing. We never expected him to get so close! I like these photos because you can see everyone's reactions in the moment.



It was initially a little hot, but once the sun started to set, the temperature was perfect. The sun setting also added to the mood, which was really nice. I also enjoyed the beautiful backdrops and the overall visuals of this concert. I noticed that many people around me weren't on their phones recording, so I decided to do the same to feel more present.




Crush performed so many songs I love, and even a few I wasn’t familiar with—but they were, of course, quickly added to my playlist. My favorite part of the concert was when Crush brought out a piano and started playing and singing his songs completely live. No background vocals or instrumentals—just the piano and his voice. Since Crush produces his own music, he knows his songs like the back of his hand, which I found so impressive. This was probably the most interactive part of the concert, where he’d sing a few lyrics and then have the audience join in. It was a little funny when the crowd, including myself, would stumble on the lyrics.







Mid-concert, Crush brought a surprise guest on stage, which just happened to be D.O. from EXO, also one of my favorite biases in K-Pop. I screamed like crazy, and my friend kept nudging me, telling me how lucky I was lolol. We got to see D.O. perform a couple of his solo songs, especially his newest track, Popcorn.






The concert ended with a bang, with the encore lasting a solid 30 minutes or so. My friend and I kept exchanging confused looks every time Crush moved on to another song (not that we were complaining!). We were just amazed at how he kept going. The encore was filled with his more upbeat tracks, like OHIO, which I’d especially been looking forward to seeing live. I’m almost certain no one left feeling disappointed, especially with such a long encore. It was great to see everyone jumping around and having a good time.


This was definitely one of the highlights of my time in Korea. It was hands down the best concert I’ve ever attended. I’m hoping to see Crush live again someday.


Song Recommendations:




0 views

Comments


bottom of page